30 Day Book Challenge – Day One: Favourite Book

Hi

Picking out my favourite book is a really tough one.  I pretty much love or at least like all the books I read.  I can’t possibly name just one book, so I’m not going to.  Here’s my small list of the books that are my favourites:

1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

I love, love, love Wuthering Heights.  I first read it years ago when I was fourteen and I just fell in love with the atmosphere of the novel.  It is like a storm or a bonfire on a winter’s night – otherworldly and uncontrollable.  The characters are fascinating, and even though Heatcliff and Catherine (the first) are possibly the most unlikable mains in the history of literature, you can’t help but feel their romance.

2.  Wild Swans by Juan Chang

 

Wild Swans blew my mind when I read it.  It highlights so much about China, both good and bad.  For me, it turned a place I knew very little about into something that I could begin to understand.  This is a heartfelt memoir first and foremost, and it is through Juan Chang’s story of her grandmother, mother and herself that the reader learns about the recent history of China.  Lots of books are good, but fade with time for me.  Wild Swans is the opposite – I can’t forget it.

3.  The Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop

If you were to look back at my older posts here you would see that this choice is inevitable.  I’ve already reviewed the trilogy, so I’m not going to really elaborate on why I love it.  I just do, despite the flaws.  I love that hope is a serious theme in the series along with animal and human abuse.  Satean, Daemon and Lucivar are three amazing characters, and the humour in the series, despite the serious tone is heartwarming.