30 Day Book Challenge – Day Seven: Book that you can quote/recite

Hi

I love a lot of books, but I’m not a great re-reader.  I wish I was but I’m not.  I do love old books though.  I loved English classes at school, and ended up with an ‘A’ in my big final exams.  There are a couple of books that I can kind of quote from, but here’s the one I’m more interested in:

Macbeth by Shakespeare

It is my opinion that Macbeth is Shakespeare’s finest play.  I’ve read Hamlet too, but I just don’t like it as much.  I went to see this performed and everything.  The atmosphere of Macbeth is dark, and is similar to Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte in this way.  The character of Macbeth is the tragedy – he is/was a good man, corrupted by greed and a wife that is rather unnerving.  I don’t know if I’m supposed to provide evidence of my ability to quote here.  I’ll give it a go or two I suppose, but it has been a while since I read it.

‘When shall we three meet again – in thunder, lightning or in rain?’

I checked this so I am right – but it is only the opening sentence…

Laugh to scorn the power of man, for none of woman born shall harm Macbeth!

Right again!

Come ye evil spirits and unsex me here, fill me from the toe-top full of the direst cruelty

Okay I’m embarrassed now.  I’m better at paraphrasing.  This is wrong.  I haven’t read Macbeth in about three years though lol. Here’s the real thing:

Come, you spirits That tend on mortal thoughts! unsex me here, And fill me from the crown to the toe, top-full Of direst cruelty;make thick my blood, Stop up the access and passage to remorse, That no compunctious visitings of nature Shake my fell purpose, nor keep peace between The effect and it! Come to my woman’s breasts, And take my milk for gall, you murdering ministers, Wherever in your sightless substances You wait on nature’s mischief!

  • Lady Macbeth, Scene V

I’m going to stop now. Two out of three’s not bad right?  Now that I come to think about it I think I’m more of an appreciation of books person than a reciter.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day Seven: Book that you can quote/recite”

  1. Two out of three isn’t bad at all – you can quote Macbeth better than I can! I too think it’s Shakespeare’s best (of the ones I’ve read thus far), but I can’t quote it at all. I can only remember some snippets, like Lady Macbeth’s “You have displaced the mirth.” Somehow, that line always stuck out at me.

    1. Macbeth is my favourite play by Shakespeare. I think the one that sticks out for me the most from Lady Macbeth is where she would ‘dash’ the head of her ‘newborn babe’ against a wall if she ‘hath sworn’ as Macbeth had done. I can only remember bits of the quote, but I think it’s just so shocking. She was a total lunatic 🙂

  2. I completely agree! I’ve read a few Shakespeare plays (I am doing a Shakespeare module next term so I will be spending my summer reading 14 of them!) but Macbeth is always my favourite. I’ve seen it performed at least three times (once as an opera) and it never fails to fascinate me!

    1. Wow, fourteen is a quite a lot of plays for summer reading! Saying that once you get used to the language Shakespeare is great. I’ve only seen Macbeth live once, but I did see a couple of recorded ones too. I think my favourite was one by the BBC – it stared a young Ian Mckellen. I think each adaption is different, so it never gets boring, plus the play itself is so multi-layed that you can watch it from a different perspective each time. Good luck with the summer reading!

      1. I know what you mean, it’s really versatile and open to different interpretations. Romeo and Juliet is pretty similar in that respect. Haha thank you! I’ll probably need it! Luckily they aren’t too long but I’ve got a pile of Gothic novels on the reading list too!

Leave a Reply

