30 Day Book Challenge: Day Thirteen – book whose main character is most like you

Hi

I am a quiet person, and I think it is fair to argue that most books aren’t really about introverts or agoraphobics.

1.  Ari from The Pillars of the World

This is the first book in the Tir Alainn Trilogy.  Ari is alone in a lot more ways than I am, but I could understand where she is coming from.  She loved animals, particularly her puppy Merle, which is a lot like me.  There was a lot of animal humour in the book too, like when Ari would talk to Merle or other creatures and tell them off.  She tried to see different sides to people – for instance she wasn’t afraid of Morag (who is basically Death) and tried to understand and see the lonely person underneath the exterior.  I am not saying that I am like that, but I do try to see things from different perspectives, especially the human side to things.   Also a lot of the time in fantasy girls are portrayed as tomboy types, so I enjoyed reading about a girl who was quiet.  She doesn’t read a lot, like I do, but I think that has more to do with the setting then anything else.

Leave a Reply

