30 Day Book Challenge: Day Fifteen – First “chapter book” you can remember reading as a child

Hi

You know how some people say that Harry Potter got them into reading?  Well, even though I love the Harry Potter series, I am glad to say that I’m not one of those people.  My love of dogs got me into reading when I was about eight years old.   The first chapter book, the first real book I ever read (by myself) and fell in love with was Holly’s Wish by Jenny Dale.  It is book thirty-five in the Puppy Patrol series.  I was so in-love with this book that I joined a book club thing where they sent me three or four each month for a year.  In the end in was a bit of a scam – they never sent me the last couple books in the series, and I was devastated.  I will always have such fond memories of the Puppy Patrol series though – Neil and Emily and all the dogs they helped over the course of the series.

If I recall correctly, Holly’s Wish is about this lovely labrador puppy stray who has been cruelly abandoned on the lead up to christmas and lives in the graveyard.  Neil, whose parents run the local kennel and rescue centre likes to help dogs like Holly by bringing them in and finding them the best homes possible.

I still have Holly’s Wish in my library, along with several of the Puppy Patrol series.  I obviously haven’t read them since I was a child, but I just can’t bear to get rid of them.  They will always hold a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

