30 Day Book Challenge: Day Seventeen – Shortest Book You’ve Read

Hi

I’m not quite sure what is the shortest book I’ve read.  Like I said on Day Sixteen, I tend to read door-stoppers.  In terms of fiction I think the shortest book I’ve read ‘The Catcher in the Rye’ by J.D. Salinger.  However, that is not counting non-fiction where I think it is ‘A Room of One’s Own’ by Virginia Woolf.

Ironically, I enjoyed both books – they packed a punch.  They didn’t feel short, and I actually am proud that I have read them!  It’s a bit of a weird thing to say ‘I’m proud I read that’ but I think it is reasonable.  They are classics, and took a fair bit of concentration to begin with (more than most).  ‘A Room of One’s Own’ is technically an extended essay of the role of women in writing, but it is very readable and is one of those books that just get you thinking.  ‘The Catcher in the Rye’ is basically Holden’s (the main character) recount of his mental break-down, told from the safety of a year later.  As someone who has dealt with depression myself, I found the book kind of spooky and sad.  His thought process is just so accurate, the only other book that I’ve read that is comparable is ‘The Bell Jar’ by Sylvia Plath.

They aren’t my favourite classics, but I still liked them a lot.   I hope to read ‘Mrs Dalloway’ by Woolf soon too, because I really liked her writing style.  Both books are very interesting, and say an awful lot, so to anyone who hasn’t read them – you need to check them out!

Leave a Reply

