Musical Gems of the Week

Hi

  I’ve been trying to get into some new music lately so here are a couple of songs that I really like:

1. Lily Kershaw ‘As it Seems’

I heard this on the Criminal Minds Season Seven Finale and I just fell in love with it. The lyrics are so intimate and meaningful – it isn’t just another singer/songwriter love song ballad. I love the fact that it fit so well with Prentiss wanting to leave and start a new life for herself. I think that it is the type of song that really has a way of resonating with people on an individual level. I went and bought it off i-tunes immediately, which is something I never do. I’ve been listening to it ever since (I only saw the finale yesterday (UK pace)).  I think it can be applied to wanting change in your life, it is very inspiring.

2. Zola Jesus ‘Vessel’

I’m going to be honest about this one – I don’t like the singer’s way of singing. It reminds me of Christina Aguilera. But I love the background music. It reminds me of Depeche Mode. The video is creepy but pretty and clever. I love the glittering sand and how everything collides in the end.

Leave a Reply

