Musing Mondays (June 4)

Hi

Musing Mondays is a blog event hosted by Should Be Reading every week where readers are asked to answer a question on all things books.

This week’s question is:

Do you have a reading goal for the year, such as __ books? Why or why not?

This is a question that I have a lot to say about.  At the start of the year I decided to do the 50 Book Challenge and even put up some posts about it.  I was doing very well – I was a 23/50 by the start of May.  The thing is, I also wanted to read books that were out of my comfort zone – so I decided to try ‘War and Peace’ by Leo Tolstoy, mainly because I liked ‘Anna Karenina’ when I read it years ago.  ‘War and Peace’ is huge and it has super tiny writing – so small that I actually think it could damage the eyes.  I didn’t want to fall behind on my progress.   In what I can only call a fit of madness, I ear-marked what you would call destination points in the book that I would have to reach while reading other books and in-between other books.  Then I think it just hit me that I was taking this too seriously.  I remembered how reading used to be – back when I read a wider variety of books and didn’t see them as mountains to climb.  I wrote a post about relaxing a bit.

I’m not saying that reading challenges are bad.  I think that they have some good points – they make you focus on reading and help you to discover new stuff.  I just don’t think that reading challenges suit me anymore.  I like to take my time and while I was doing the reading challenge I found that it would become more about numbers for me then the enjoyment I got from reading the books.  I admire the people who can stop that line blurring, but I just can’t.

One thought on “Musing Mondays (June 4)”

Leave a Reply

