30 Day Book Challenge: Day Twenty Three – Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished)

Hi

This is a fun one.  Nowadays, the only time I say I’ve read something when I haven’t is usually for college.  I’m bad but I just can’t ever manage to you know, read everything on the book list. I read as much as I can.  Enough about that though…

Years ago, way before the films came out and I was a precocious teenager I thought it would make me look good to say that I’d read the ‘Da Vinci Code’ by Dan Brown.  I was about thirteen, maybe fourteen.  I was weird and un-informed about what the book actually was about.  I thought it was a book for smart people and that it was an intellectual debate on god and I was in an all-girl Catholic school so I thought it was a really cool thing to say that I’d read.

I did eventually try to read it.  I loved ‘Angels and Demons’ (the prequel) but when I actually tried to read the ‘Da Vinci Code’ I didn’t like it.  Compared to ‘Angels and Demons’ it was boring.  I gave up on it and I’ve never looked back.  I liked both of the films, but I think this is a good example of how ignorance is a bad thing – the ‘Da Vinci Code’ was not the book/film I expected it to be.

2 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day Twenty Three – Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished)”

  1. I survived uni by reading a couple of books from an author’s collection and using York Notes for the rest (naughty)!
    I remember scan-reading Sir Walter Scott’s Red Gauntlet in one afternoon, the day before an exam (not recommended!).
    I’m ashamed that I’ve never read Wuthering Heights, I’ve only read two Austens and I gave up halfway through Bleak House because it was so bloody miserable! Thanks, I feel better for that confession 😉

    1. I’m relieved to read that I’m not the only one who does that 🙂 I’ve never read a book by Charles Dickens, but I did have to read ‘Middlemarch’ by George Eilot and it was so awful I had to stop reading it.

Leave a Reply

