30 Day Book Challenge: Day Twenty Six – favourite non-fiction book.

Hi

Seeing as I already put ‘Wild Swans’ by Jung Chang in my post on favourite books I’ve decided to do a post on a couple of other ones that I really liked instead.

1. The Good Women of China: Hidden Voices by Xinran

Taken from Goodreads

I read this book because I loved ‘Wild Swans’ and wanted to read similar.  ‘The Good Women of China’ is vastly different from ‘Wild Swans’ though – it is essentially a collection of life stories, taken from women from different classes.  Some of them are homeless, others living in a commune, or gay.  It really opened my mind and by the end of the book I really admired the women in the book, and Xinran for their bravery.  I think the bit that stands out to me the most is the women who live in the cave, which is really shocking.  There are several stories that are really sad too, like the young woman who was raped and put in hospital.  I dont’ want to spoil it for anyone who is thinking about reading it, so I’m not going to go into detail.

2. ‘Revolutions: Theoretical, Comparative and Historical Studies’ edited by Jack A. Goldstone

I read this for college, and I have to say that I think revolutions are the most interesting thing to study from a historical, or sociological point of view.  You might just think that a revolution is all about anarchy, but it isn’t and this book proves that.  Revolution is a complex topic.  It makes a great read too.  This book looks into different revolutionary waves and is a collection of essays on the subject.  I think it is a must-read for anyone interested in history, and it is readable.  A lot of academic books are written in a way that makes your eyes want to bleed, but this one isn’t.

Leave a Reply

