30 Day Book Challenge: Day Twenty Seven – Favourite Fiction Book

Hi

Like I said in my last post, I’m going to pick something for this post that was not mentioned in my favourite books post.  I’ve done a bit of thinking and have decided that I’m going to pick a book that could be considered part of the ‘fiction’ genre – not a fantasy, or a historical romance, chick lit etc, but a work of fiction that is classed that way.  I’ve decided to pick a book that would be part of the genre that books that get a lot of awards – mainstream, modern books that discuss an important topic.

I’ve decided to go with ‘The Help’ by Kathryn Stockett because it is a book that I would consider to fit the above qualities.  I picked up this book on a whim, not knowing much about and not having seen the film beforehand.  I didn’t think that it’d be to my liking, but I was pleasantly surprised. I really loved it, and even did a review on it.  It was definitely one of my reading highlights of 2011 and I’m glad that I read it.

I’m not going to go into detail, because I’ve already reviewed it, but I will say that since I wrote that review, I have watched the film.  If you’ve both read and watched ‘The Help’ you will know that there is one huge change in the film, and it really takes away from the book.  I’m referring of course to the change in the colour of Constantine’s daughter.  I felt really let down by that, because in the book it was a huge deal and made sense, whereas in the film it felt badly put together.

Leave a Reply

