Self-Help Wednesday for the creative mind with a little help from Ray Bradbury

Hi

I think I forgot to post this up last week.  I was having one of those moments where I was mentally allergic to doing anything.  Hopefully I’m over that now 🙂

Looking back over the journal/book that I wrote when I was fifteen it is evident that I really loved drawing and art and that sort of thing.  I wrote down a lot of quotes about that subject.  I think the person I most quoted was Ray Bradbury, because he had a lot of good things to say on the topic.  It was sad to read about his death, which happened recently.  He seemed like a wise man, and of course he gave the world ‘The Halloween Tree’ which is one of the most informative and creepy children’s spooky stories around.

The first quote is applicable to all areas of life:

‘Jump and you will find out how to unfold your winds as you fall’

The second is about passion:

‘Love.  Fall in love and stay in love.  Write only what you love, and love what you write.  The key word is love.  You have to get up in the morning and write something you love, something to live for’

I think that that can be applied to any area of creativity, or job or whatever you are doing with your life in general.

The final quote of the day is again about writing, but again I think that you can take in any context:

You only fail if you stop writing’

All quotes are of course from Ray Bradbury.

Leave a Reply

