Books I have been Reading 2013

Hi

So it is pretty obvious that I took an extended break from book blogging on here.  I had my reasons, but ultimately they don’t really matter.  This isn’t me coming back to book blogging or anything, but I am still an avid reader and want to share my passion with the world.  Here are some of the books/series of books that I have gotten into in the past year or so.

Sep 2013 043

  • Cinder and Scarlet both by Marissa Meyer – if you haven’t read it already you should.  Though the premise of a twist on the traditional fairy tales is not original, the books themselves are quite interesting and unique.  Cinder is a cyborg living in a futuristic Asia.  She is really good with machines and technology.  I was really pulled into the story and I have to say that the hype did not disappoint.  I wolfed (pun intended) down the second book in the series Scarlet which is a retelling of little red riding hood and was good in its own right.  Check them out if you like Young Adult Fiction or just want to read something light but good..
  • Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut – this is a modern classic and it totally deserves that title.  It is kind of a hard plot to put into words but basically it is about this guy who was a soldier in World War Two and he perceives time during and after it.  It is incredibly readable and it definitely made me re-evaluate my ideas on warfare.
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – like Cinder I had seen a lot of talk about this one online.  The Night Circus is about these two people who from a very early age are made to take part in a deadly competition between two masters with very different ideas on how one should learn magic.  The book is interesting, but at first I thought it was a bit too sparse on the details.  Overall I really enjoyed it though, and it is a good story with a good resolution to the plot.

Sep 2013 047

  • Lorna Doone by R.D Blackmore.  This is another classic, but it isn’t as well-known as many other English classical novels. It should be though.  It really should be.  It is about this guy (John Ridd) who is a farmer in rural england, and he is a bit stupid and totally undervalues the women around him.  Until he falls in love with the mystical Lorna Doone, who is basically a lady living with a bunch of blueish blooded bandits.  It is pretty funny in places – like when people point of things to Ridd that he never even thinks about.  I liked I think because it has a lot of charm in it, and a good twist as well.
  • The Earth by Emile Zola.  Another classic, this time by a French author.  The Earth  is chilling and nasty and gritty and the end will surprise and destroy you.  It is about this quaint little farming village in rural France and it should probably be classed as a horror.  Just awesome is all I can say.
Leave a Reply

