Where to start with the Discworld


The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett numbers close to forty books by this point.  It is a funny, exciting and sometimes profound series of books, but starting out it can be a bit daunting.  So, here is my guide, as a fan, to where to begin with the Discworld.

Sep 2013 054

1.  The Colour of Magic/ Light Fantastic omnibus.  This is a little obvious being the first two books in the series.  I started here and I think that it does help to give the reader an idea of the setting of the books and the tone of the early ones.

2. Guards! Guards!.  This is the best ‘early’ book that I have read and it introduces the Watch to the Discworld, who go on to have their own series of books.  I should say ‘mini’ series, because the Discworld series is made up of different ‘mini’ series and standalone novels.

Sep 2013 056

3. Soul Music.  This is not the first book in the Death series, but I think it serves as a good introduction to Death and Susan.  This also leads into the Hogfather book, which was adapted by Sky a few years back.


2 thoughts on “Where to start with the Discworld”

    1. They are always fun 🙂 If you want to read them all in order then go for it! I love that the Discworld doesn’t really have a reading order so it is up to the reader where to start and go on from.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s