Review: The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Hi

 DSC00182This is the story of Santiago, and Andalusian shepherd boy who dreams of travelling the world in search of a treasure as extravagant as any ever found.  From his home in Spain he journeys to the exotic markets of Tangiers and then into the Egyptian desert, where a fateful encounter with the alchemist awaits him.

The Alchemist is a transforming novel about the essential wisdom of listening to our hearts, learning to read the omens strewn along life’s path and above all following our dreams.

The Alchemist follows the story of a boy named Santaigo as he goes about fulfilling his destiny; finding buried treasure.  I thought that this was a very inspirational book.  There are ups and downs on Santaigo’s path, but he remembers to never give up.  The cost of never trying to find the treasure is higher to him (and everyone) than failure.  This is a very well written book, and I read it pretty fast.  It is under two hundred pages in length.  I enjoyed it and from time to time I felt like it was on the verge of being mind-blowing.  I liked the spiritualism of the book and how it was about never giving up.

Overall I would give this a six out of ten.  I liked it a lot, but for me there was just something missing.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho”

    1. I see your point, but I thought that it was a cute little twist at the end of the story. I agree that it is beautifully written.

      1. My opinion might be slightly coloured by the fact that it was given to me by a man who went round in circles and I thought it typical of him to give me such a book

Leave a Reply

